Forgeworld custom turret

So last night I received 6 Forgeworld MODIFIED RYZA PATTERN LEMAN RUSS TURRETs.  I’m using these to make my own alternative to the Leman Russ tanks for my Guard List.

Couple of quick thoughts….

1.  FW does not make their turret opening to be compatible with the normal turrets.  I had to cobble the tank commander together by cutting off the supporty bits that fit on the inside of the turret, shave off the turret hatch bits from the resin model, and then paste in a hatch from a stock model kit….  I was hoping to be able to just drop in my commander from the old turret… but that was not to be….  That being said, I think it went together well

2.  The hatch pieces aren’t what I’d hoped for…  they’re just thin… and in two pieces  Fit was good though.  On one there was some deformity, but I solved it by throwing them away and making a commander sitting in the hatch.

3.  The base of the turret is smaller than the stock one… so you may have some turret rattle… 

In all honesty, I don’t know how FW makes such awesome models with incredible attention to detail, and then misses the big stuff…  Like making the turret fit nice into the hole in the existing model… 

So enough with the negative….  All that being said, the turret completely rocks…  The detail is great, it’s solid, no air bubbles, no warping (except for 1 hatch out of six)   AND since I am using these to convert Rhinos into Leman Russes…. it’s actually cheaper than if I had tried to pick these up from Ebay auctions.

As you can see in the pics below, it’s quite a bit larger than the stock LR turret.  Detail is great, but once you get down into the cracks and crevices, and the space between bits, the model gets a little “dirty” looking.  If your paiting style is super crisp, then you might have to do a lot of work to make everything smooth…  But for me, I like to dirty them up a bit with washes, so it didn’t bother me… 

About clt40k

This blog is here to capture my obsession with painting little plastic men... You NEVER really get over being 11...
This entry was posted in Imperial Guard. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Forgeworld custom turret

  1. ColCorbane says:

    I feel your pain on the turret mounting, I’ve been working on one tonight and it’s been a nightmare!

  2. clt40k says:

    No kidding… But I was happy that I was able to fit a Tank Commander in the hatch… It just took some creative cutting.

  3. Mark on the turret stub where the hull slots go, then drill a hole for a nail or metal rod, down just enough for a snug fit. It will significantly reduce the rattle, and keep it in place for transporting.

  4. Hey man, I just read your comment on my blog and I agree with you 100%. This Rhino conversion is nice but the proportion still seems off. Tell you what, I’ll post some comparison pics of my Tigers with a LR and you do the same with your Rhino.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

