Project Update – Cadian 73d

Well, everything has been bought, assembled, primed and basecoated. Finished three Chimera/Russ tanks tonight.

Here’s a picture of the completed “Counts as” Leman Russ….  

Sunday I had basecoaed a ton of tanks and figures and took this evening to put the finishing touches on the three below…  I still need to do some minor detail work, but almost everything else is done.

Initially, I had thought to use a Rhino chassis for the basis of my Russ…  But, as Col Hessler pointed out, the proportion did seem to be a bit off…  Also, the Rhino doesn’t have enough rivets to really look like a proper Guard vehicle…  So with the release of the new chassis for the Chimera, I decided to give it a go.  I had seen where folks had done conversions like this before, but I think the older versions of the Chimera just didn’t work out… but without having the bulky thing on the side, I think it looks pretty cool….  They sort of have that low slung “panzer” kind of look….  

So here is the task currently before me……  About 1/4 of the way done with tanks and just started with troops…  Yikes, that’s a lot of painting…

About clt40k

This blog is here to capture my obsession with painting little plastic men... You NEVER really get over being 11...
This entry was posted in Imperial Guard. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Project Update – Cadian 73d

  1. Looks real nice. It’s interesting that the Chimera & the Rhino look to be the same length. I always thought the Rhino was shorter. Keep up the good work.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

