Quick BatRep – Wolves vs Marines

 

  

Last night I played the “auto tie” scenario against my buddy Brian up at the shop. 2K, One objective each and pitched battle deployment. Kennedy set up the table like a complete douche since he didn’t have a game at the time. So I got stuck trying to hide 3 units of Long Fangs in craptastic cover (A wooded hill and a 1 story building on the extreme right of the table) The other side of the table had a nice tall building right in the center. Brian won the roll-off – and by table a layout alone, Kennedy forced him to sacrifice going second on an objective mission in order to hose me by taking the better side of the table… The end result was a wash though… I got bad terrain but got to go second… Which was good for a quick moving Wolf Speeder at the end of the game FTW. 

Brian runs a pretty tough and balanced list with Devs, a LR, Speeder, Pred, etc… Unfortunately, he also runs a single vindicator… which, like all good vindicators lost it’s big gun during my first turn of shooting and was a REALLY expensive rolling storm bolter. 

So Brian attempts to run his LR down my throat… but I surround it with troops (so he couldn’t get out) then kept it stunned for three turns with 200+ points inside… This let me fight against 1500 points for most of the game… In retrospect though, this may have been a mistake on my part as I had to sacrifice a unit to tie up the LR… Then, when his 5 Storm Shield / Thunder Hammer chappies unloaded, it was LATE in the game and he brought a LOT of killin to have to deal with all at once….. So the first turn they deployed, I completely ignored them… I had a bubble wrap unit of Long Fangs who gave up the ghost to be a blocking unit. Then in Turn 5, I hit his termies with everything and then assaulted with a full pack of Grey Hunters + RP and another combat squad of Grey Hunters. At the same time, Mr. Landspeeder did something very useful and sat on his objective – contesting it. Game went to Turn 6. He couldn’t kill my speeder (I made like 6 4+ saves – which explains the “Happy Go Fast” Wolf picture at the top of the page…) His Termies were Dead, Dead, Dead, and I shot him off his objective for good measure ensuring the win if it were to go to turn 7…. 

All in all, a hard fought game… There was some good rolling (speeder saves) and some bad rolling (20+ Frag hits on a wrecked rhino unit that I only managed to score 1 wound… meh… which he saved) 

So earlier in the week, I posted some changes to my list that I wanted to try… This game was pretty telling for that… 

Razorbacks did a good job… I’m glad I added the 3 to the list. Having 9 vehicles + Long Fangs = Target Saturation. Also, Kennedy and I have an ongoing debate about what is better… LasPlas or TLlas for the Razorbacks. I was in a situation late in the game where it would have been nice to have those 6 TL plasma shots…. but in truth, I didn’t need them cause I had capable tools to do the same job… So for now, I’m more inclined to keep the Razorbacks as TLlas since the re-roll helped me a lot throughout the game in trashing vehicles. 

Long Fang deployment… Again, I’ve been thinking a lot about how to deploy them.. ie, all together or spread out… I honestly don’t think it matters… so I think in the future, I’ll go for elevation first… if not, then it don’t really matter, as long as they’re in 4+ cover. 

Didn’t miss that 3rd rune priest… especially when his Libby kept shutting down my 2 Rune Priests for most of the game…. That, in my opinion if the risk of having 300 points tied up in 3 psychic autocannons (living lightning) – I feel a lot better about running two… Also, it reduces my fear of things like “Eldar Cheater Stones” which cause me to perils on 12+ from 3D6… bleh…. and losing the 3rd allowed me to fit in the razorbacks… 

Thunder hammer was a waste of points – three turns of hitting a LR and couldn’t do crap… I think I’ll can it and go with a powerfist instead… 

Sidenote *** I think the key learning point for this game is that the ONLY thing that’s any damn good at cracking a LR is Melta… Unfortunately for this game, I had dedicated a speeder’s Multi Melta as well as squad melta gun and still couldn’t do more than stun it… which was all I really needed to do…. but I wasted a lot of shots from Lascannons trying to silence that threat with no real success… in the future, I’ll run up another squad to help out before I dedicate TLlas shots at it. 

Using two power weapons in the squad = OVERKILL – In theory, the best combat is the one that starts in your phase and ends in your opponents…. Having 11 attacks that force an Invo are just too much. I don’t think it’s cost effective… But I think it’s one of those things that you gotta learn by experience. It’s back to the WG with PF, Melta, Rune Priest, and marines… 

In terms of game analysis… 

I pretty much castled up.. so my tactics were pretty set… but…. 

* Had a situation when my Wolf Scouts came where I could have either attacked a Dread and a Pred, or a dread and a combat squad… I chose the combat squad / dread… I wanted to keep some pressure on that side of the board… which I was hoping would lead to a semi-refused flank late in the game… didn’t really work.. but I felt like my scouts did something effective… 

* Brian has a tendency to bottleneck his force… by stopping the Raider, I pretty much kept him playing 24 inches off of my board edge and it gave most of my stuff cover… 

* I thought I did a good job moving to hit his vehicles out of cover… ie, slide a razorback 4-6 inches to get an unobstructed view of his side armor. 

* Thought I did a good job keeping the units I needed to crush his TermieHammer protected in place until they needed to get out and do wrong to their persons. 

About clt40k

This blog is here to capture my obsession with painting little plastic men... You NEVER really get over being 11...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quick BatRep – Wolves vs Marines

  1. Good report, lol. Nice to see your progression.

Leave a Reply

