Sad Emo Vampires – Asslt Cannons aren’t THAT cool

So I gave the list from yesterday a try last night in two games vs. Kennedy.  The first game I deployed like a dummy and got beat up.  The second game I thought I deployed better, but got beat up anyway.  I don’t mind the loss.  They’re good for telling you what you need to do better or what you’re missing.  From my perspective, here’s what I came away with.

5 Assault Cannon Razorbacks is lame – I just didn’t have fun shooting them.  This is totally different than my Long Fangs.  I ALWAYS enjoy shooting.  The razorbacks hit stuff and damaged stuff… but I just couldn’t get excited about it.

My thought that 5 man assault squads was enough didn’t really work.  The extra 35 pts each in wargear did not make them viable.  They were just too puny.

Since I was trying to get everyone in the fight… the deployment was an issue.. I just ran out of room to really be effective.  So once the lead tank got popped, I was pretty well bottle necked.  But that’s more of a game lesson than a list lesson… 

So I made some tweaks and I think Rhinos/Sang Priests/more guys are going to be the  “more better”  way for how I want the space emos to play… 

Based off of last night… Here’s what I’m doing instead:

  • 3 Baal Preds
  • 3 Auto Las preds
  • 2x 10 guy Asslt Squad w/ PF and 2x Melta  in Rhino
  • 2x 9 guys Asslt Squad w/ PF and 1x Melta  in Rhino
  • 1 Sang Priest with PW – for FNP
  • 1 Libby
  • And Hunter Killers for everyone….  Hooray….

We’ll give it a shot tonight…  The BA fluff and special rules just don’t appeal to me all that much.  But I like the Baal Pred models and I like Asslt Marines…

About clt40k

This blog is here to capture my obsession with painting little plastic men... You NEVER really get over being 11...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sad Emo Vampires – Asslt Cannons aren’t THAT cool

  1. kennedy says:

    Unfortunately, I think you need at least 2 priests. That way, you can run pincer maneuvers and not suffer from trying to bunch up your guys so they all benefit from the priest.

Leave a Reply

