Thunder Wolf Cav Conversion

OK, so here’s my attempt at a TWC conversion.  I’m not terribly happy with the scale…  Mr Space Wolf looks a little big on top of it…  I’ve put him next to a bike so you can get a sense of size…  I don’t think it’s bad, but I’m not so sure it’s worth the $$$ to crank out enough of them to field….  The conversion itself wasn’t terribly hard.  I split the legs from a scout biker and used a regular marine torso.  The actual scale of the figure looks good… but I’m not so sure about the relationship between rider and mount.  I’ll paint it and then see how I feel about it after, but right now I feel a little mixed.

So if it looks good painted then great.  If not, then the search will continue.  I flat out don’t like the Resin wolves that are being produced…. But that’s just an aesthetic thing… they look well made, I just don’t like them… 

On the other hand, I’ve been having a hard time getting motivated to paint my fantasy army.  I’ve got something like 30 Brettonian Knights to paint.  And I like painting the knight… but painting the horses seems like a real chore – and trying to replicate heraldry on 5 different shield shapes is just stupid… so I’ve been sort of bleh there as well…  The end result is I’ve only gotten about 90% done on a couple of models.  But, I slapped a knight on top of the dinosaur and I kind of dig it….  My wife said it’s must appeal to multiple interests of my inner 5 year old…  Knights are cool.  Dinosaurs are cool.  Knights on dinosaurs are very cool…  Logic seems to make sense to me.  Here’s a pic of that…

At any rate, any comments, criticisms or encouragement are certainly welcome.

About clt40k

This blog is here to capture my obsession with painting little plastic men... You NEVER really get over being 11...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thunder Wolf Cav Conversion

  1. Kirby says:

    I like the the look of it though agree the model seems just a wee bit big on top of the lizard.

    P.S. get a friend widget!

Leave a Reply

