Quick Batrep – Codex vs Vulcan (1500)

OK, so Saturday I got a game in with my Codex 1500 list. Here’s what I’m running….

  • Libby
  • 2x Full Tac squads (ML/Flamer) in Razorbackwith TL Las
  • 2x Dreadnought w/ 2x TL Autocannons
  • 3x Landspeeder Typhoons
  • 3x Autocannon/Las Predators

 

My buddy Terry took….

  • Vulcan
  • 3 Full Tac Squads
  • TH/SS Termie Squad in a Redeemer
  • Ven Dread with MM/CCW

We set up the table with good LOS blocking stuff smack dab in the center…

Mission – annihilation

Setup – Table Quarters

I pretty much castled up in the back of my table quarter around a ruined building. The two missile launcher squads set up in the building and the tanks and dreads were deployed in an L around the back edge. I figured I had much better range, so he’d have to deploy as far forward as he could. Terry deployed as far forward as he could.

  • Turn I -I moved the speeders up in order to take two melta shots at his LR (both hit, taking his MM and his Assault Cannon), his dread loses an arm, 2 rhinos are immobile, one destroyed. My speeders get melta’d 😦
  • Turn II – His LR eats it from a TL Las. Termies come out and start heading towards my lines through cover. They make every save
  • Turn III – Their luck expires and he has no more termies.
  • Turns IV – VI – Mopping up.. he wanted to keep going… so I shot his marines a lot. Game ends with handful of tac Marines about 20″ away from my lines.

So, in my opponent’s defense, he had cover pretty much all game. He did a really good job keeping his stuff protected…. He just didn’t have enough of a counter threat once the LR and VenDread were down.

About clt40k

This blog is here to capture my obsession with painting little plastic men... You NEVER really get over being 11...
This entry was posted in BatRep, Codex Marines. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quick Batrep – Codex vs Vulcan (1500)

  1. That’s how 1500 goes. One critical move/turn, and the game is decided, with no way to come back into it.

    I don’t like playing that way. 🙂

  2. clt40k says:

    It was fun becauae I like the guy I played… not because we had a good game… it was just too one sided… I had too much shooty and he did not.

  3. Sabatine says:

    But thats how it goes about one sidededness. I’m always getting crap about never being competative during turney’s, but screw that i wanna learn all armies and most tactics so one year i’ll win every turney and wipe all the smug smiles off thery’re stupid little men.

Leave a Reply

