The weekend’s games – IG and Tau

This weekend I went up to Parker, Banner, Kent & Wayne (Local comicbook and games shop) to get a couple of games in. The week has been pretty good for gaming. I got to play Wednesday, Thursday and Saturday. I hadn’t been up to PBKW for games before. I showed up and got a 1000 point game in with a guard player. It was KP and Pitched Battle. I won, but at that points level the games feel a little silly. He was trying to get a list together for a 1K tourney where you show up and they put you with someone. His list wasn’t bad, but I think for IG you could make a much more nasty list. He focused on having 3 units of meltavets and Ogryns. I took Space Wolves with 3 full units of ML longfangs, Dakka Dreads, and a couple of razorbacks… We both had awful luck with the rolling. After the game, I gave some thoughts about his list (lose the Ogryns and Hydras FTW) 

Then I got a 1500 game in vs Tau. Autotie + Dawn of War. He was taking: 1 Broadside, 2 Railheads, 1 Pirana, Pathfinders w/ Devilfish, 1 squad of FW, 2 Kroot blobs, and 3 units of suits. I took my stock Codex list… He had poor luck with the dice, and didn’t have enough shooty to make up for the bad rolls. Also, I was able to put a ton of firepower on his suits and they were all but gone by Turn 3. After that, I moved up to get into range of his broadside/Railheads and knocked the gun off the railhead turn 4. We called it since on Turn 5, I would have full possession of both objectives and he would have nothing that could contest and didn’t have the firepower to knock me off either objective. I feel I played a pretty good game, but I could have been more aggro with the Preds (I should have moved them to ensure refused flank) and I think I should have deep struck my Speeders (ie, sacrifice them for a railhead or something) But all in all, it was a fun game. 

In other news, I’ll be getting some new terrain this week. I’ll post pics when it’s in. 

In other other news, I think I’ve found another Guard Victory Song….  

     

About clt40k

This blog is here to capture my obsession with painting little plastic men... You NEVER really get over being 11...
This entry was posted in Codex Marines. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

