First of the Lizards painted + List help needed

OK, so I probably tried about a dozen scale pattern combinations on the skinks… I wasn’t happy with any of them so I decided to do a very subtle shade of darker blue on them.. they look pretty good from a distance.  I’ll paint the Saurus warriors just like on the box though… I think the fact that they have more scales will make the contrast look more natural and real.

I’ve got a game on Thursday…  Myself and some of the younger guys at the shop are all getting into WFB at the same time… so we’re going to attempt to muddle through a small battle with our almost non-existent knowledge of the rules.  So I’m going to spend the next few evenings putting stuff together so I can field some sort of force… we’re aiming for 1250 to start with…  So I’m thinking 3 Skink priests, some Skink Skirmishers, Salamanders, chameleons, and Saurus Warriors….

Here’s my first take at a Lizardman List for 1250 – any thoughts or suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated

  • Skink Priest w/ Lvl 2 upgrade + PLaque of Tepok
  • Skink Priest w/ Lvl 2 ugrade + Cupped Hands of the Old Ones
  • 9 Chameleon Skinks
  • 10 Chameleon Skinks
  • 2 Salamander Hunting Packs
  • 2 x 10 Skink Skirmishers
  • 2 x 18 Saurus Warriors with spears + standard and musician

At any rate, here’s the pics from the first batch of Skinks…. 

About clt40k

This blog is here to capture my obsession with painting little plastic men... You NEVER really get over being 11...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First of the Lizards painted + List help needed

  1. Paul says:

    These skinks look great! What was the recipe? I love the contrast between the deep blue and the firey red of their crests. A job well done sir! I look forward to seeing some more of your lizarddudes.

  2. clt40k says:

    Thanks! I used a base of Ice Blue, then washed with Reaper Blue Ink, then a really light drybrush of white. The scales are Hawk Turquoise… I’m looking forward to painting the Saurus cause I think the dark/light contrast will look better… I kept going back over the scales, and I just couldn’t get really happy with the Skinks… so I kept it very subtle… or at least tried to.

  3. Paul says:

    They came out superb. I think I may ‘borrow’ this recipe 🙂 I’ll have to try those reaper inks too. I did a test on a Saurus warrior using Hawk Turquoise for the base, then washing it with PP blue ink. The ink,when it dried had that weird metallic type sheen to it, kinda like a ball point pen thats exploded and the ink has dried. So, I nixed that idea.

  4. clt40k says:

    I really haven’t been that impressed with any PP products except thier Armor Wash… that is the bomb…

Leave a Reply

