Space Wolves and Tau

So I’ve been thinking about digging out my old Tau for a go.  I’ll need to buy some piranhas.  The lists I’ve been working on are all variants of Stelek’s Tau lists…  so nothing new there.

Been thinking about how to put Shadowsun into the list too… 

Even though the internets say Tau are really good…  the lists just seem to be really fragile…  ie, sort of glass hammer like.  But I think it would be fun to play…  Question will be how well I can use the Crisis Suits. 

Also, been thinking about the all foot – 9 broadside list…  That list actually seems to be stronger to me…  I can see the synergy better…  But I just don’t have the cash to drop down on 7 more broadsides.

Also, been thinking about how to run an infantry heavy Wolf list.  I’m going to give this a spin on Thursday. 

2K Wolf List

  • Rune Priest with Jaws and LL (+chooser) + 1 Wolf Guard (PF) and 8 Grey Hunters (Melta and PW) in a Rhino with PMSB
  •  1 Wolf Guard (PF) and 9 Grey Hunters (Melta and PW) in a Rhino with PMSB
  • 1 Wolf Guard (PF) and 9 Grey Hunters (Melta and PW) in a Rhino with PMSB
  • 1 Wolf Guard (PF) and 9 Grey Hunters (Melta and PW) in a Rhino with PMSB
  • 6 man Long Fang Pack (5 ML) in a TL Las Razorback
  • 6 man Long Fang Pack (5 ML) in a TL Las Razorback
  • 6 man Long Fang Pack (5 ML) in a TL Las Razorback
  • Landspeeder Typhoon – w/ Melta
  • Landspeeder Typhoon – w/ Melta
  • Landspeeder Typhoon – w/ Melta

It has the 9 shooters that I put into all of my lists.  And a crapload of troops and good psy defense.  Also, I’ll most likely deploy and use the troops in groups of two.  So I’d be looking at 6PF Attacks, 6 PW attacks, and about 50-ish normal attacks on the charge…  Or a ton of torrent of fire.

About clt40k

This blog is here to capture my obsession with painting little plastic men... You NEVER really get over being 11...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Space Wolves and Tau

  1. kennedy says:

    Chris, I like the thought of your bringing out Tau more. You oughta at least try the 9 Broadside variant (by proxy, if needs must). If you really liked it, you know you’d buy ’em 😉

    As to the Wolf list… Meh. It looks a lot like a better version of my old Chaos lists. 4 big troops in rhinos + long range support + speeders. My old Chaos had 4 big troops and some long range support but no speeders. This will play relatively the same. You’ll hop into midfield against anyone who can’t club you in close combat and hang back against anyone who can. It’s not a bad list, and it may be plenty fun against the guys at the store, but I think it’s kinda bland, personally.

Leave a Reply

